Tabat Scholarship

In 2001, a fund was established by the Federation of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions to honor Sr. Joan Tabat, OSF whose earthly life was cut short by a tragic auto accident.  A member of our Board of Directors for many years, “Joannie” was a tireless champion of the liturgical reform.  In addition to her national work, she served dioceses in Illinois and in Florida.  A $1000 scholarship was to be awarded annually to a student who is pursuing a graduate degree in Liturgical Studies or related field. 

Applications must be received before June 1 each year.  The application should include a cover letter on what the recipient would plan to do with the funds (including the course of study); a curriculum vitae; and two letters of references from professors or from immediate supervisors at the parish or diocese.  Finally, the application should include an endorsement letter from the applicant’s diocesan Director of the Office of Worship. 

Past Recipients

2020 - Lauren Johnson and Darnell St. Romain

2018 - David Wood

2017 - Victoria Zibell

2016 - Larry Barton

2015 - Brother David Wilding, OSB

2014 - Daniel Demski

2013 - Nathan Chase

2012 - Sr. Loretta Beckius, C.K.

2011 - Elizabeth Hicks

2010 - Claire M. Anderson

2009 - Solveiga Palionis

2008 - Kristopher Seaman

2007 - Sr. Anita Louise Lowe, O.S.B

2005 - Carrie Marcotte

2004 - Rev. R. Gabriel Pavarnik, O.P.

2003 - Diana Macalintal

2002 - Karin Barret