The Fredrick R. McManus Award

The delegates to the 1994 National Meeting of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions in Saint Louis were responsible for the establishment of a national award  which would recognize an individual who or organization which has made significant contributions to furthering the liturgical renewal in the United States. Subsequently, at its annual meeting in January 1995, the Board of Directors voted to name the award after Monsignor Frederick R. McManus and to designate him as its first recipient.

Msgr. McManus (1923โ€“2005) served as a peritus at the Second Vatican Council and drafted significant portions of the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy.  He served several terms as the President of the Liturgical Conference and was instrumental in establishing the Federation of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions.  He served as the Dean of the School of Canon Law at the Catholic University of America and was a leader in promoting dialogue with Orthodox Christians.  

Since establishing the award, the FDLC has presented it to the following:

  • 2021 – Rev. Edward Foley, OFM, Capuchin
  • 2019 – Abbot Primate Gregory Polan, OSB (๐Ÿ“„ Acceptance speech)
  • 2018 – National Association of Pastoral Musicians (โ–ถ๏ธ Link to acceptance speech)
  • 2017 – The Liturgical Press (๐Ÿ“„ Acceptance speech)
  • 2016 – Rev. Jan Michael Joncas
  • 2015 – Sr. Joyce Anne Zimmerman, CPPS (๐Ÿ“„ Acceptance speech)
  • 2014 – Msgr. Kevin Irwin (๐Ÿ“„ Acceptance speech)
  • 2013 – Rev. Paul Turner (๐Ÿ“„ Acceptance speech)
  • 2012 – Rev. Msgr. Anthony Sherman
  • 2011 – Dom Anscar Chupungco, OSB
  • 2010 – Ms. Mary Frances Reza
  • 2009 – Rev. R. Kevin Seasoltz, OSB
  • 2008 – Dr. Richard Proulx
  • 2007 – Rt. Rev. Archimandrite Robert Taft
  • 2006 – Dr. Nathan D. Mitchell
  • 2005 – Mr. Robert E. Rambusch
  • 2004 – Sr. Kathleen Hughes, RSCJ
  • 2003 – Most Rev. Donald Trautman
  • 2001 – Most Rev. Daniel E. Pilarczyk
  • 2000 – Liturgy Training Publications (Chicago, IL)
  • 1999 – Rev. Aidan Joseph Kavanagh, OSB
  • 1998 – Ms. Ade Bethune
  • 1997 – Dr. John R. Page
  • 1996 – Rev. Godfrey Diekmann, OSB
  • 1995 – Rev. Msgr. Frederick R. McManus

Published by FDLC

Since 1970, the Federation of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions has served the clergy and faithful of the dioceses of the United States by providing leadership, scholarship, and resources to aid in the authentic implementation and celebration of the liturgy.