The Frederick R. McManus Award

The delegates to the 1994 National Meeting of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions in Saint Louis were responsible for the establishment of a national award  which would recognize an individual who or organization which has made significant contributions to furthering the liturgical renewal in the United States. 

Subsequently, at its annual meeting in January 1995, the Board of Directors voted to name the award after Monsignor Frederick R. McManus and to designate him as its first recipient. Msgr. McManus (1923-2005) served as a peritus at the Second Vatican Council and drafted significant portions of the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy.  He served several terms as the President of the Liturgical Conference and was instrumental in establishing the Federation of Diocesan Liturgical Commissions.  He served as the Dean of the School of Canon Law at the Catholic University of America and was a leader in promoting dialogue with Orthodox Christians.  

Since establishing the award, the FDLC has presented it to the following:

1995 - Rev. Msgr. Frederick R. McManus

1996 - Rev. Godfrey Diekmann, OSB

1997 - Dr. John R. Page

1998 - Ms. Ade Bethune

1999 - Rev. Aidan Joseph Kavanagh, OSB

2000 - Liturgy Training Publications (Chicago, IL)

2001 - Most Rev. Daniel E. Pilarczyk

2003 - Most Rev. Donald Trautman

2004 - Sr. Kathleen Hughes, RSCJ

2005 - Mr. Robert E. Rambusch

2006 - Dr. Nathan D. Mitchell

2007 - Rt. Rev. Archimandrite Robert Taft

2008 - Dr. Richard Proulx

2009 - Rev. R. Kevin Seasoltz, OSB

2010 - Ms. Mary Frances Reza

2011 - Dom Anscar Chupungco, OSB

2012 - Rev. Msgr. Anthony Sherman

2013 - Rev. Paul Turner

2014 - Msgr. Kevin Irwin

2015 - Sr. Joyce Anne Zimmerman, CPPS

2016 - Rev. Jan Michael Joncas

2017 - The Liturgical Press

2018 - National Association of Pastoral Musicians

2019 - Abbot Primate Gregory Polan, OSB